A fresh, unique and vibrant sound that most bands take years to establish. Talent hanging out of them! A truly brilliant trad band." - Niamh Dunne (Beoga)


This Irish five-piece band from the North of Ireland are tearing up the rule book with their bold approach to their native musical tradition. Since the release of their critically acclaimed debut album, ‘New Landscapes’, for which Cúig were awarded ‘Best New Irish Band 2016’ by the Irish American News, they have taken both sides of the Atlantic by storm having toured extensively in the US, Europe and Ireland. Comprising of Miceal Mullen (banjo, mandolin), Rónán Stewart (fiddle, uilleann pipes, vocals), Ruairí Stewart (guitars), Eoin Murphy (button accordion) and Cathal Murphy (drums, guitars, vocals), Cúig look set to continue this success with the release of their highly anticipated sophomore album, ‘The Theory of Chaos’.

‘The Theory of Chaos’ features high octane original instrumental compositions and arrangements with the addition of original songs, a recording first for the talented five-piece.  With a keen emphasis on varied production techniques, the new album conveys a powerful evolution in Cúig’s already distinctive sound. ‘The Theory of Chaos’ allows each members’ individual musical flair to shine while simultaneously gelling seamlessly as an ensemble to create a progressive, exhilarating and polished album which places Cúig at the forefront of contemporary Irish music.

‘Carry On’, an original song from the upcoming album, was featured in a social media advertising campaign video for Aer Lingus filmed at Milwaukee Irish Fest 2018, the biggest Irish festival in the world, which has clocked over 650,000 views to date.


 Miceál Mullen - Banjo/Mandolin  

 Rónán Stewart - Fiddle/Uilleann Pipes/Vocals

                                                                                                            Cathal Murphy -  Percussion/Guitar/Vocals

                                                                                                                          Eoin Murphy - Button Accordion

                                                                                                                   Ruairí Stewart – Guitar